FCIARctic is located in the Arkhangelsk region – which is the most habitable and developed part of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation.

The Center is the successor of research activities developed by several institutions of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) and the Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences formed in the city of Arkhangelsk in the 1990s.

FCIARctic was formed in 2015 by consolidation of:

In 2016 the Center was named after Nikolai Laverov, the outstanding academician of the RAS.

The number of research personnel – 213, including one corresponding member of the RAS and 20 Doctors of Sciences (2018).

Postgraduate specialties: physiology, zoology, ecology, economics and national economy management, geophysics and geophysical methods of mineral exploration, geoecology (2017).

Number of graduate students – 48 (2018)

National patents received in 2017–2019: 12


The founder of the Center is the Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation

The scientific and methodological activities of the Center are led by the RAS

Director of the Center - Ivan BOLOTOV, Doctor of Sciences (Biology).

Form of the FCIARctic̕  legal entity incorporation – federal state-owned budgetary institution.